Basic Suggestions for Cracking the Civil Service Examination

Illustration for article titled Basic Suggestions for Cracking the Civil Service Examinationem/em

The Union Public Service Commission manages the civil service examination. The exam is regarded as the toughest exam all over India. The exam is conducted to employ officers for Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Police Service (IPS) and Indian Revenue Service and other important, respectable positions. Hence, it is pretty evident that if you are preparing for this examination, you must be in search of final guidance that can help you clear the test. During the initial level of preparation, you may find it very difficult to channelise the exam procedure. By reading this article, you will get to know the various details about this prestigious theory test.


The IAS exam has continued to be a hot topic of conversation among many aspirants in several regions as this offer the candidates, an opportunity to take their career to the top notch. The eminent Civil service coaching in Chennai will provide you with proper training and help you prepare and strengthen your weak subjects. Students preparing for civil service examination are required to have essential clarity on the several topics that they learn during preparation.

What do you require to become an IAS?

The candidate is required to put a lot of hard work to achieve success in the examination. Along with hard work you also need to be alert about the changes in the UPSC pattern, the syllabus and the questions asked in the test.


Different Stages of the examination

The first is the preliminary level which is concerned with the reasoning capacity and analytical knowledge of the student. The primary test is the most significant and vital stage as the marks scored matters in the selection procedure.


1. Preliminary Examination or the Civil Services Aptitude Test which consists of General Studies Paper-1 and CSAT Paper 2 (objective type):

· General Studies Paper 1- The paper 1 has 200 multiple choice questions each carrying one mark for a correct answer and also negative marking of 0.3 with every wrong answer.


· CSAT Paper 2- the second paper is more like an aptitude-type-exam that tests your logical reasoning capability, graph reading abilities and also English and Hindi comprehension.

2. Mains Examination comprises of nine papers (subjective): the nine papers in the written examination is divided into:

· Paper 1(300 marks) - any of the Indian language you can choose from the languages mentioned in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution namely Assamese, Bodo, Hindi, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Telugu, Maithili, Malayalam, Punjabi, Sanskrit,, Santali, Sindhi, Manipuri, Kashmiri, Nepali, Tamil, Urdu, Dogri and Odia (which has been recently added to the list of Indian literature subjects of the UPSC civil services examinations).


· Paper 2 (300 marks)- English

· Paper 3 (200 marks)- Essay

· Paper 4 (300 marks)- General Studies Paper 1

· Paper 5 (300 marks)- General Studies Paper 2

· Paper 6 (300 marks)- Optional 1- Paper 1

· Paper 7(300 marks)- Optional 1- Paper 2

· Paper 8 (300 marks)- Optional 2- Paper 1

· Paper 9 (300 marks)- Optional 2- Paper 2

3. Personal Interview or Personality Assessment Stage (verbal) - the personality test contains 300 marks.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter